Olympian wins top online award and much more

Video by Drew Paxman

Staff members of The Olympian won 43 awards this school year, including a first place award for online general excellence from California News Publishers Association. Here at The Olympian, our students work hard every day to publish articles onto our website and bring our newspaper to a limitless audience. 

“I’m proud of our class for stepping up and winning the award. We deserve it because we’ve all worked hard this year,” said Editor-in-Chief Corinne Davidson.

Explaining the award, a judge commented that The Olympian website is “easy to navigate, has wide coverage, in-depth writing and is visually appealing. Social media is well accounted for. It makes one want to linger on the site.”

Exceptional Olympian staff writer Zoe Dorado also won six awards in categories ranging from photography to news articles. 

“I learned a lot of things when I was writing the articles and photographing the subjects. I think it’s great that journalism lets us go out in the real world, learn about different things, and meet new people,” said Zoe Dorado.

All awards are listed below.

Megan Baldwin: Olympian Hall of Fame

Delenn Block: Olympian best news photo

Melissa Boussaroque: Quill and Scroll Society, news story; California Press Women, news story; Journalism Education Association, video opinion

Ada Chen: Olympian best entertainment story

Corinne Davidson: Olympian best news story; Olympian editor of the year

Olive Dooley: California News Publishers, columns; Olympian best feature photo

Zoe Dorado: Journalism Education Association, photography; Journalism Education Association, news story; California Press Women, column writing; Olympian best news story; California News Publishers, columns; California News Publishers, news photo 

Tiffany Ho: California News Publishers, illustration

Andrew Hui: Olympian best page design; Journalism Education Association, newswriting; California Press women, newswriting; California News Publishers, enterprise news

Leah Janaway: Olympian best opinion story; California Press Women, opinion story

Jennifer Mi: Youth Journalism Initiative, First Amendment Matters Video; Outdoor Writers Association of California, photography

Ali Nosseir: Olympian best sports story

Drew Paxman: California Press Women, opinion story; Outdoor Writers Association of California, photography; Olympian best feature story

Delaney Rasmussen: California News Publishers, sports photo

Athena Sy Kuzuhara: Olympian best illustration

Ethan To: California News Publishers, sports photo; California News Publishers, enterprise news 

Leland Tsai: Olympian best sports photo 

Jeanette Wallis: California News Publishers, pandemic coverage

Amanda Wong: California News Publishers, columns; Olympian best opinion story

Maya Wong: California Press Women, entertainment story; California News Publishers, profile story; California News Publishers, illustration; Olympian best cartoon; 

Full staff: California News Publishers, general excellence

Full staff: California News Publishers, online general excellence

One thought on “Olympian wins top online award and much more

  • May 23, 2022 at 10:52 am

    Great job everyone!

Comments are closed.