New officers elected for 2019-20 school year

CVHS students had their first glimpse of democracy in voting for their peers in ASB and class officer elections.

Running unopposed, junior Devin Green was elected ASB president. Green is extremely qualified for his new position. “I have been an elected member of my school’s leadership class since 6th grade. There is no other candidate with the ability to do what I can for you,” said Green.

Also unopposed, junior Darsh Grewal was elected ASB vice president. Grewal plans to make the CVHS campus more lively through implementing new activities. “I will try my best to create school activities that’ll help students distract themselves from all the work for a bit and have a bit of fun,” said Grewal.

Nadine Ratinho, newly elected ASB secretary, promises to devote herself to the position and bring her leadership knowledge to the position. “I am very passionate about school activities, I am very hardworking and experienced,” said Ratinho.

Russell Marasigan, newly elected ASB treasurer, hopes to have a positive influence on CVHS students. “I want to be a role model on ASB that will inspire, motivate, and influence both the class and the school,” said Marasigan.

Grace Boyd, newly elected ASB school board representative, aims to promote wellness and ease among CVHS students. “All 3,000 of us should look forward to and find comfort in going to school,” said Boyd.

Senior class officers are Kalei Stambaugh as president, Theo Santiago as vice president, Anita Wong as secretary, and Tommy Ryken as treasurer. Stambaugh plans on using her experience to further herself in her role as president. “I will strive to encourage my class to take part in school activities and fundraisers to benefit them,” she said.

Junior class officers are Alex Ikuma as president, Rachel Chin as vice president, Paul Hansen as secretary, and Griffin Hastings as treasurer. Ikuma has many goals for the upcoming school year. “I plan to raise money for prom through many fundraisers. I would also like to create class-specific merch to provide the class of 2021 with representation,” she said.

Sophomore class officers are Lauren Green as president, Travis Orem as vice president, Jamie Fong as secretary, and Honna Nguyen as treasurer. Green plans to implement new ways to connect with her class. “I will try my best to host monthly class meetings for the whole class to hear opinions,” she said.

Freshmen class officers have yet to be elected at their respective middle schools.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *